Autobots, let’s roll!

The Transformers? Yes…

So I finally made it out to the Transformers movie. I was pretty sure I was going to like it, and I was right. Giant freaking robots, Optimus Prime vs. Megatron, the transform sound effect… Full disclosure here–I had probably 30+ Transformers toys way back when. I collected them religiously at Christmas and Birthday; I even co-opted my little brother and sister (who could care less about them) into requesting them as gifts, thus further bolstering the collection. I watched the TV show daily. I bought the comics. And I continued to play with my little metal and plastic treasures into Jr. High, worrying my folks about maturity and development. It’s safe to say I am in the target audience for this flick.

From the start, I was very pleased they used the voice-actor (Peter Cullen) who did the original Optimus Prime for the movie. It made me ridiculously happy to hear that sound effect the first time and watch as the Decepticon took it to the soldiers. I enjoyed Shia LaBeouf and Megan Fox as the obligatory human allies. Their side-plot was funny and entertaining. I wasn’t even annoyed with how much screen time they (and the other human side-plots) took–at least on first viewing. Bumblebee was great as the protector/sidekick–loved it when he upgraded himself–and I could go on, but instead I think I’ll just list my three best geekifiric moments:

  • The sequence that has the Autobots assembling and transforming (especially Optimus) the first time
  • This bit of Oscar-worthy dialogue:

Megatron: Where is the All Spark?
Starscream: The humans have taken it.
Megatron: You’ve failed me yet again, Starscream. Get them!

  • Optimus transforming while zooming down the highway before taking on Bonecrusher

Of course the set-piece battle sequences where everything you’d expect from a big budget Michael Bay offering. They were, in a word, awesome.  I was only slightly annoyed by the need to let the soldiers have their little moment of victory amidst the chaos (an evolving trope in the whole mankind vs. the monsters/aliens/giant freaking robots sub-genre). Megatron vs. Optimus Prime? What more do you need?

This is not to say that the movie doesn’t have it’s problems. Of course it does. And if you’re not into the idea of a hyper-kinetic summer popcorn flick based on toys from the 80’s, you probably shouldn’t bother. But for me, this is the summer movie of the year (and I’ve seen practically all the big summer movie). This one one goes into the DVD collection as soon as it comes out. Sign me up for the sequel.

I only hope that guy who came up with this for Hasbro isn’t feeling too ripped-off right now. I hope he got paid.

3 thoughts on “Autobots, let’s roll!

  1. I agree across the board with your review, the only thing that annoyed me was John Turtorro’s character was just a little too over the top. I know he was there for comic relief but I would have liked to see him pull it back a little bit on the super-stereotype.

    Mike.

  2. Hugo Weaving plays Megatron, good to see an Australian as one of the Decepticons; im just a teen but I have every single episode of Transformers, every comic and movie and toy that exists, safe enough to say, Im a transformers fanatic.

Leave a Reply

