New Mag Subscription: Weird Tales

A few months ago, I lamented the course of the sci-fi fantasy short fiction staple I’d been subscribed to for years and stated I’d spend my money elsewhere. Well, finally I got around to it.

I’ve just subscribed to Weird Tales, now edited by Stephen H. Segal (didn’t know he was into horror/dark fantasy*) and Ann VanderMeer (wife of weird fiction rockstar, Jeff). This magazine is, of course, the venerable home of classic weirdness dating back nearly a century, which first brought us Robert E. Howard, H.P. Lovecraft, and Ray Bradbury.

I’d been picking this mag up in the bookstore from time to time for years now, and while I’ve enjoyed many of the stories, it always seemed a bit hoary. Now, under new management, I figure it’s time to give it another shot.

Weird Tales has been relaunched before with varying results; this time they seem to have an active online presence as well as a partnership with a good indie publisher (Wildside Press). That seems like a must for a print mag in today’s climate. I’m very interested to see what the Vandermeer/Segal editorship offers. I chose the deluxe subscription, which includes  six issues of WT plus two issues of H.P. Lovecraft’s Magazine of Horror for a mere $31.95.

Of course, these mags will have a big fat bullseye on them in terms of my own short fiction efforts, and what better way to gauge their preferences than by reading their product?

*Just kidding, Steve–I know it’s gotta be a different Segal… Please don’t kick my ass, though.

One thought on “New Mag Subscription: Weird Tales

  1. Pingback: Recommended: Weird Tales « Beemsville

Leave a Reply

