Pulling Up Lame

The years go by and injuries take a lot longer to heal.  I was talking to a buddy of mine I used to play basketball with in high school, and he agreed.  It gives a guy added respect for guys like Brian McBride and Nesta, and even confused old Brett Favre…

This time for me, it seems like a strained hip-flexor/upper groinal, which has now led to hamstring problems as well.  Near as I can figure, I picked this one up volunteering in the dunk tank two weeks ago – either slipping off the seat or trying to catch myself when some smart-ass kid ran up to hit the lever after he missed with his shots.

The kicker is, I was sort of training to run in the annual Abe’s Amble 10K at the State Fair Grounds this weekend.  Last Sunday was supposed to be my last longer run to get ready, and it just wasn’t happening.  Now I’m wondering how much time I need to take off before I can get back to it.  Too long, I reckon.

And of course it goes without saying that Mrs. Beemsville is eager for the ol’ upper groinal to be back to full strength…

wait for it….

…because, naturally, she’s tired of me whining about it.

2 thoughts on “Pulling Up Lame

Leave a Reply

