Reunions are a…

…what?  A pain, a hassle?  A trip, a fest-o-fun?  I will choose to look at them (and a particular one) this way:  it’s a chance to reconnect with old friends and catch up.  I’d better, because it looks like I’m going to be attempting to plan a high school reunion.  Findlay High School here we come.  They make movies and write books about reunions.  People build them up in their mind obsessively, with either feelings of dread or rapt anticipation.  I hope none of that happens here because I’m not much of an event planner.  But I do hope we can pull it off.

So if you happen to be one of my old high school classmates reading this, please drop me a line because I could use some help and ideas.  The challenge here is not in the numbers – our school was so small I only had 20 other co-graduates – no, the challenge is the logistics and drumming up enough interest.  If only half the people can make it, it ain’t much of a party.

You want most of the people to come, and you want to have stuff to do.  My hometown doesn’t offer a lot of the latter, so the obvious call would be piggy-backing on the town festival, the legendary Findlay Walleye Festival.  Yes, the parade, the 3-on-3 tournament, the fish sandwiches, the beer tent…  So mark your calendars for [Edit again: looks like the fish fest is July 30-31 as originally reported], unless someone comes up with a better idea.

One thought on “Reunions are a…

Leave a Reply

